Changing up my cardio

Late post I know.  I’ve been hitting my books really hard lately.  I’ve never studied so hard for a test before.  And I have a bachelors degree HA! I’ve spent 4-6 hours a day studying for the last week and a half.  And I’m probably going to keep the pace up for the rest of the week. 

Next Wednesday is the big day, so hopefully it’ll all go ok. 

Today was cardio and abs, but I was getting tired of just doing the same ol’ cardio where I’d go in and do a moderate pace on the eliptical for 40 minutes.  So I decided to do some HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training).  This is where you do intervals of high intensity mixed with intervals of low intensity.  So for example today I did 30 seconds at 90-95% of my max, followed by a 60 second period of about 50-60% of my max.  I did this for 23 minutes (thats all I could do).  It whoops you pretty good.  I used to do it a couple years ago but for some reason I stopped.  Gotta keep the body guessing so I think I’m going to start utilizing this more often now.

Abs went rather well today, not too much exciting going on with them.  Tommorow is backs day so I have to get in my proper mental state for deadlifts.

~ by divito9 on June 24, 2009.

2 Responses to “Changing up my cardio”

  1. /cheer for interval training!

  2. I am sure you are ready for next Wednesday to pass. I am sure you will do well with all the work you have been putting into it. I am impressed that you have stayed focused on fitness the whole time too. Good work!

Leave a comment